iptables basics

Thread: iptables basics

iptables basics

OK, I'm a bit of a newbie but have been reading quite a bit regarding iptables. I'm trying to secure my recent Debian3.0 install. I understand how the rules of iptables work but:

1. how can I verify that iptables is already installed?
    2. One "how to" I read said iptables might be a module or compiled into the kernel. How do check to see if it's in the kernel?
    3. I thought the "inetd.conf" file started all the services. However, ssh, telnet, finger are not even listed in this file. Where are those services started and how do I disable them?

This should get me started. I've pasted my "inetd.conf" file and the output to a "netstat -pant" command which shows some vulnerability (I think). I don't want to run any services. I only need to access the net.

*********************** here is the inetd.conf file

# /etc/inetd.conf: see inetd(8) for further informations.
    #
    # Internet server configuration database
    #
    #
    # Lines starting with "#:LABEL:" or "#<off>#" should not
    # be changed unless you know what you are doing!
    #
    # If you want to disable an entry so it isn't touched during
    # package updates just comment it out with a single '#' character.
    #
    # Packages should modify this file by using update-inetd(8)
    #
    # <service_name> <sock_type> <proto> <flags> <user> <server_path> <args>
    #
    #:INTERNAL: Internal services
    #echo stream tcp nowait root internal
    #echo dgram udp wait root internal
    #chargen stream tcp nowait root internal
    #chargen dgram udp wait root internal
    discard stream tcp nowait root internal
    discard dgram udp wait root internal
    daytime stream tcp nowait root internal
    #daytime dgram udp wait root internal
    time stream tcp nowait root internal
    #time dgram udp wait root internal

#:STANDARD: These are standard services.

#:BSD: Shell, login, exec and talk are BSD protocols.